Thank you 2020 Post Election Conference Speakers!

Although the 2020 Post Election Conference looked different this year due to its virtual nature, we were still able to hear from many influential Ohioans.

The session on The State of Racism & Racial Equity in Ohio, with panelists Christie Angel (YWCA Columbus), Senator Hearcel Craig, Representative Stephanie Howse and Senator Dave Burke, provided a necessary and informative dialogue on race in Ohio.

Legislative updates were provided by Senate President Larry Obhof and Senate Minority Leader Kenny Yuko, as well as Speaker of The House Bob Cupp and House Minority Leader Emilia Sykes.

Election 2020: Observations from the Media, discussed the election from the perspective of Ohio’s media outlets. The opinions were given by Darrel Rowland (The Columbus Dispatch), Karen Kasler (Statehouse News Bureau), and Jackie Borchardt (Cincinnati Enquirer). Jenny Camper (Lesic & Camper Communications) served as the moderator.

The keynote address, given by Dr. Trevor Brown and Governor Mike DeWine, offered a fantastic analysis of Ohio’s election, as well as the effects of the pandemic on the state.

Updates were given by Lt. Governor Jon Husted, Treasurer of State Robert Sprague, and Secretary of State Frank LaRose as well.

A Reflection on Campaign 2020: A Political Analysis, heard dialogues from prominent members of both political parties. The discussion between Toni Webb, Joe Biden’s Ohio Campaign Director, and Jane Timken, the Chair of the Ohio Republican Party, were moderated by Laura Bischoff (Dayton Daily News).

Ohio’s budget and funding for 2021-2022 was discussed by Kimberly Murniek, Director of the Office of Budget Management, Representative Bill Seitz, and Senator Vernon Sykes. McKenzie Davis  of The Success Group moderated this discussion.

Finally, a discussion on the importance of healthcare and Medicaid in Ohio was moderated by Todd Baker (Ohio State Medical Association), with panelists Maureen Corcoran (Ohio Department of Medicaid), Kelly O’Reilly (Ohio Association of Health Plans), and Mike Abrams (Ohio Hospital Association).

We are so thankful that our speakers were willing to join us despite the circumstances. Thank you to our speakers!

The Honorable Mike DeWine, Governor
The Honorable John Husted, Lt. Governor
The Honorable Frank LaRose, Secretary of State
The Honorable Robert Sprague, Treasurer of State
The Honorable Larry Obhof, President, Ohio Senate
The Honorable Kenny Yuko, Minority Leader, Ohio Senate
The Honorable Robert Cupp, Speaker, Ohio House of Representatives
The Honorable Emilia Sykes, Minority Leader, Ohio House of Representatives
The Honorable Bill Seitz, Majority Leader, Ohio house of Representatives
The Honorable Vernon Sykes, Member, Ohio Senate
The Honorable Stephanie Howse, Member, Ohio House of Representatives
The Honorable Hearcel Craig, Member, Ohio Senate
The Honorable Dave Burke, Member, Ohio Senate
Mary Augsburger, President and CEO, Ohio State Bar Association
Dr. Trevor Brown, Dean, John Glenn College of Public Affairs, The Ohio State University
Kimberly Murnieks, Director, Office of Budget and Management
Mike Abrams, President and CEO, Ohio Hospital Association
Todd Baker, CEO, Ohio State Medical Association
Maureen Corcoran, Director, Ohio Department of Medicaid
Kelly O’Reilly, President and CEO, Ohio Association of Health Plans
Jane Timken, Chairman, Ohio Republican Party
Jenny Camper, Principal, Lesic & Camper Communications
Christie Angel, President and CEO, YWCA Columbus
Toni Webb, Ohio Director and Partner, Biden for President and JM2
Darrel Rowland, Public Affairs Editor, The Columbus Dispatch
Karen Kasler, Bureau Chief, Statehouse News Bureau
Jackie Borchardt, Columbus Bureau Chief, Cincinnati Enquirer
Laura Bischoff, Columbus Bureau, Dayton Daily News

Posted in

Leave a Comment